Violation of the Prime Directive? You decide!
Okay, here are the facts. I'm running a TOS game where the Captain and crew where sucked through a temporal rift into an alternate reality where Earth never made it through the Eugenics Wars, and thus never achieved warp capability.
So it's an alternate 2268 where the Romulan Star Empire rules that particular sector, including the Terran SOL system. To the Romulans, Earth is regarded as far too insignificant to be of any bother, so they've ignored it.
- The crew beamed down to this alternate Earth, and appeared before a post-apocalyptic tribe of Native Americans, in full uniform, and with visible field equipment on their person. They also chose to defend the tribe from harm by utilizing that same equipment in their full view.
- The crew gave self-revelation and self-identification of members of Starfleet, extraterrestrial members of Starfleet, mission, and technological capabilities to a pre-warp civilization of an alternate Earth, through a Vulcan mind-meld, which included references to space, other worlds, and/or advanced civilizations.
So. . .does this count as a clear violation of the Prime Directive? Why or why not?
The crew goes before a board of inquiry next week. Further questions are always welcome. Thanks. :)