Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice

Southeast Kansas (40 feet from the middle of Nowhere)

Advice

If any have been reading the "Fall of Arthedain", you know that the Company is about to embark on an elvish ship for a journey to Gondor. This is where I'm beginning to have a little trouble.

1. What kinds of things do I do onboard a ship? I've thought about pirates and corsairs, but it looks as if, according to the Atlas of Middle Earth, that the city of Umbar is under Gondor's control and the corsairs aren't much of a problem. I figure they will be aboard ship at least a couple of months and this is too much time to just gloss over and say, "Okay, you're on a ship in the Gray Havens and two months later, you arrive in Gondor." Something has to happen. Any suggestions and tips on how to carry them out will be greatly appreciated.

2. Once they reach Gondor, they have to convice the King to come to Arthedain's aid. This is why Lady Lorwen was chosen. I'm not that good at political intrigue and, again, would appreciate some pointers.

Thank you in advance, and I hope you all are enjoying the story so far.

dustin
    Professional soldiers are predictable, unfortunately, the world is full of amateurs.

In life, there are defining moments; it is for you to decide whether the moment will define you, or if you will define the moment.

Re: Advice

Originally posted by dustin

1. What kinds of things do I do onboard a ship? I've thought about pirates and corsairs, but it looks as if, according to the Atlas of Middle Earth, that the city of Umbar is under Gondor's control and the corsairs aren't much of a problem. I figure they will be aboard ship at least a couple of months and this is too much time to just gloss over and say, "Okay, you're on a ship in the Gray Havens and two months later, you arrive in Gondor." Something has to happen. Any suggestions and tips on how to carry them out will be greatly appreciated.