Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Web Site Development Status

Web Site Development Status

To let all of you know how far the development of the new site have proceeded, I will present the status here.

Recruit the initial design and developer team
    ->Choose CMS/Tools
    Design the site
    Implement the site
    Test the site
    Opening day

-> means a current task

As the forums slowly awakes again, it is time to begin the work on the web site. But to achieve the best result, I need help. One of The first steps is to pick out tools that will be easy to work with. But as a technician I would probably pick out feature rich tools with a hopeless user interface

There might also be something you would like to see, and help with, on the site. Maybe writing a bi-weekly or monthly column about Trek gaming? Something else? What kind of tools would be essential? If there has to be a choice between a WYSIWYG editor and a spell checker, which one is more important?

Identified features so far:
    User Contributions
    Content approval
    Granular Privileges for editors/designers
    Supporting Meta information
    Multisite support if it should support both Trek and LotR

Also, I want it as writer friendly as possible.

To chime my two cents: for the CMS, I heavily recommend SPIP
    http://www.spip.net

It's very powerful and a breeze to use. It needs some heavy configuration in the beginning (you can do any layout you want) but after that it's wonderful. It actually enabled me to btvs-rpg.net (http://www.btvs-rpg.net) back on good tracks. It has an internal text layout engine that is powerful and simple to use. If you're interested let me know I can tell you more about the features.

On the other hand, IMHO, avoid php-Nuke and similar software. It seems powerful but frankly, layouting contribs with it is a true nightmare: I learnt this first hand (btvs-rpg.net ran under it in the beginning).

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=