Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: We have a Pope!

We have a Pope!

Now, the biggest question is: Who?

Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger from Germany is elected the new Pope.

He has chosen for his name, Pope Benedict XVI.

Habemus Papam!
    Anyhoo, just some random thoughts...

"My philosophy is 'you don't need me to tell you how to play -- I'll just provide some rules and ideas to use and get out of your way.'"
    -- Monte Cook

"Min/Maxing and munchkinism aren't problems with the game: they're problems with the players."
    -- excerpt from Guardians of Order's Role-Playing Game Manifesto

A GENERATION KIKAIDA fan

DISCLAIMER: I Am Not A Lawyer

I would have prefered someone else, but I wish him luck.

God knows, he will need it.
    Hugh Casey
    My Online Journal

"Oh, bother," said the Borg, "We've assimilated Pooh."

Talking

Oh, please. I hope you didn't bet on Cardinal Bernard Law.

Some London bookmakers have got it right, BTW, in both candidate and the chosen name.

IMHO, I've had a hunch they were going to select an older papal candidate. He's 78 years old, which mean his papal reign will be much shorter than that of JP2 the Great.

"My philosophy is 'you don't need me to tell you how to play -- I'll just provide some rules and ideas to use and get out of your way.'"
    -- Monte Cook

"Min/Maxing and munchkinism aren't problems with the game: they're problems with the players."

A GENERATION KIKAIDA fan

Quote Originally Posted by REG
    He's 78 years old, which mean his papal reign will be much shorter than that of JP2 the Great.
    OTOH, he's not got the health problems JPII had at that age (Parkinson's, etc.) so he may last quite a while yet.

I give it 12-15 years, barring incident.

What's amused me is that the media attacks have already started. He's been called "schooled in the Nazi's use of propaganda" (He was 12 when WWII started, ninnies!), and referred to by unknown "critics" (ie: the press) as "God's Rottweiler."