Thread: Best Star Trek Novels

Best Star Trek Novels

I'm really a beginner when it comes to Star Trek. I've read a few novels, seen all the movies and most of the episodes of TOS and TNG. I have a bit o' reading time coming up in a few weeks and thought I'd ask for your advice. Please tell me what your favorite Star Trek Novel is and how useful you found it for narrating or GMing. I still want to hear if you thought it was a great book but not useful for narrating.

I'm looking forward to reading your opinions.

The Final Reflection to me is the definitive pre-TNG Klingon book. It is a fantastic read and takes a 2d villain race and makes them 3d very handily.

Infiltrator (TNG): A book written that deals with Eugenics War decendants that got away from Earth in the late 1990's. Unlike the Augments and other genie never do wells, this particular batch is highly intelligent, but not predatory. Not that Starfleet and Earth Believes that for a instant. When Earth and Starfleet finds out about them, all hell breaks loose. But not in ways that are expected. Very good book for non-hostile genetic background characters.

The Vulcan Academy Murders (TOS): Set on Vulcan during the TOS era, ti deals witha series of murders on Vulcan at the Vulcan Science academy. A very good look into Vulcan and the sort of influences it has had to put up with in the TOS era.

The IDIC Epidemic (TOS): Sequel to the above book. The Enterprise is called to a outlying colony to deal with a lethal viral outbreak. The Virus is highly lethal, and to make matters worse, highly mutable. It gives a look into the Followers of T'vet, a vulcan warrior cult based on the old ways. As well as an unpleasant look into the side effects of IDIC from one point of view. A good read