Thread: Short changed teams

Short changed teams

Is it just me, or in national media, some teams regardless of how well there doing appear to be short changed in their time in the national spotlight. Whereas other teams, who may not be doing as well, still get more on air time.

Question

For example...?
    Anyhoo, just some random thoughts...

"My philosophy is 'you don't need me to tell you how to play -- I'll just provide some rules and ideas to use and get out of your way.'"
    -- Monte Cook

"Min/Maxing and munchkinism aren't problems with the game: they're problems with the players."
    -- excerpt from Guardians of Order's Role-Playing Game Manifesto

A GENERATION KIKAIDA fan

DISCLAIMER: I Am Not A Lawyer

The Padres, but of course I say this as a Padres Fan. ESPN I believe is giving us a very small amount of screen time in comparison to our current stats. Although we are not a HUGE market, out of region fans are hurt by this fact. Instead they cover Bonds (who is not that good to the Fans (I use to live in SF)) bad knee or the loosing season of NYY so far. Baseball is so much larger then that.

Well, while I understand the need for national exposure -- which is why teams both professional and collegiate are fighting for airtime on such network as ESPN -- as a fan, it takes away the close relationship that I used to have for my home team. What I mean to say, is that before ESPN become a commercial marketing asset, I have enjoyed watching pre-empted sporting events featuring the University of Hawaii football team on my local TV station. Now, the more it featured on ESPN, the less I get to watch it (no cable). After all, ESPN can dictate that if they broadcast the event, the local TV station cannot.

"My philosophy is 'you don't need me to tell you how to play -- I'll just provide some rules and ideas to use and get out of your way.'"
    -- Monte Cook

"Min/Maxing and munchkinism aren't problems with the game: they're problems with the players."