Thread: Excuse me while I reboot...

Talking Excuse me while I reboot...

So I tend to use my notebook as kind of a backup for my multimedia files on my desktop pc...

I accidentally delete all the music files from the notebook - oops. Recycling bin isn't big enough. Fair enough, my bad. The files are all still on the desktop. Start copying them from the desktop to the notebook. It'll take about three hours.

Ninety minutes into the process, the notebook apparently downloads an update from Microsoft and decides this would be a good time to reboot. I'm in another room as I hear the shutdown music on the notebook.

I write software for a living. If I were going to make a computer automatically reboot, I'd make certain that the computer wasn't in the middle of something.

I love Windows... I now have nightmares of someday being in a hospital, hooked up to life support run by a Windows machine. Which decides to reboot for some critical updates...
    AKA Breschau of Livonia (mainly rpg forums)
    Gaming blog 19thlevel

F-Disk, Format, Reinstall, do-da do-da
    A brave little theory, and actually quite coherent for a system of five or seven dimensions -- if only we lived in one.

Academician Prokhor Zakharov, "Now We Are Alone"

Strange that... I thought Windows update asked confirmation before rebooting.

Now I'm really sure I'll keep my setting on Windows Update to ask me if I want to download / install new updates (and stick with Windows 2000 so far as well).

BTW Dan, did you lose any file because of the reboot ?
    "The main difference between Trekkies and Manchester United fans is that Trekkies never trashed a train carriage. So why are the Trekkies the social outcasts?"
    Terry Pratchett

That is odd, but then I always get the thing to ask me before doing any updates, call me paranoid, but I have to agree, why trust Windows!?