Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you prepare an "episode?"

How do you prepare an "episode?"

I am new to the RPG world and starting to work on my first game. I have read the Narrator's guide on developing episodes but the books guidelines don't work for me. I have been trying out different format, such as outlines, but I haven't found my writing style yet. I was wondering what you all use. I know each person is different and have different ways of developing ideas. I thought maybe we could all share our different styles of developing a game. Thanks.

I usually start out with a bare bones outline. Beginning and ending first, then filling in the blanks with story moments or beats to get the characters from beginning to end.

I always leave the middle flexible, because the players will always come up with something unexpected. I'm a flexible enough GM to go with the flow and still guide the players to the ending I already have in mind. I also find that sometimes I riff off players' ideas, and that helps to flesh out the episode more as we go.

If there are specific skill checks or such that I expect the players will need to make, I'll plug those into my outline (for instance, "At this point, the engineer should realize that he needs to recalibrate the such-and-such; doing so is a TN 15 sys op test"). If the player doesn't get to it, it' s not a big deal. We'll find another solution.

I try very hard to not create a rigid story or outline, mainly because I never want my players to feel like they're being railroaded.