Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Romulan War Series

Romulan War Series

I am moving my ICON post-Enterprise Series into the Earth-Romulan War phase next weekend. Before I do that, I would like to compile some resources to help me make better effective use of the Romulans as well as Starfleet during the Series.

I have the Romulan Boxed Set. Indeed, I have ALL of the ICON Trek books (except the original Star Trek RPG book, much to my dismay). However, I am lacking some relevant ICON statistics for such things as mid-22nd century Romulan warships.

There is a whole lot of stuff hereabouts regarding the whole "the Romulans had no warp drive until the mid-23rd century," but that is not the case in my Series. I wrote some stuff here YEARS ago regarding how the Romulan warp drive systems perform in this era in my Star Trek universe, but I am a lousy starship designer.

I plan to operate as though the Romulans have only two or three different classes of starships at this point in their history. The first is the cloak-capable vessel we saw in "Minefield." The second is a smaller version of that ship, which is used for forward scouting and other stealthy operations. The final vessel is their troop carrier (which won't see much play in this Series as there are no ground battles between Starfleet and the Romulans). I realize that they probably have more types of starships, but this is what I'm going with.

In my mind, the Romulans have pretty much overpowered their enemies with their warbirds (like the one from "Minefield"), so there is really no need to produce anything else. Certainly these vessels are periodically improved and upgraded, but they serve their purpose admirably otherwise, so why mess with [what they believe to be] perfection? Apart from their main combat vessel, they would likely have need of a sneaky ship (primarily because they are Romulans) as well as ships to carry their soldiers for the inevitable invasion and pacification.