Thread: More ideas from Tricky's Brain!

More ideas from Tricky's Brain!

Ok, I was at work the other day, and one of the lines was working on the 'Ships of the line' book. Of course, I flipped through it. One image stuck out: an ENT era ship crashed in a desert. I read the little blurb, and it said that it was from Archer's time, the Colombia maybe, and it was lost, but found in the Gamma Quadrent. The blurb took the position that the Dominion might have made incursions into the AQ, but in my mind I thought about the opposite: What if this ship had made it there somehow? How would the crew react? What would they do?

So, I started playing this idea in my head, slowly modifing it as I went along. The story would start, not at the begining, but at the end. FED/SF ambassadors/diplomats would be meeting the leaders of some newly discovered "alliance" of different species that has recently been discovered in some backwater part of the galaxy. What astounds them, is that these aliens seem to have some knowlege (although out of date) of FED languages and culture. Then they present a gift to the Ambassador: Several old style memory cards (like Spock used to use); a SF insignia patch from a missing ship; and some other trinket that changes from time to time in my head (a Klingon dagger, IDIC symbol or something iconic like that, or maybe something seemingly innocuous, like a family photo).
    When asked how they came upon these items, the aliens simply say they owe a great debt to the people of that ship, and they are helping them finally get home. Review of the cards tells a sweeping epic.....