Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Officers...

Officers...

What is it with senior military officers these days? Most of them are courageous, honest, hard-working soldiers serving their countries, yet there are some startling abberations. You guys had one who was a Islamist terrorist, and now we have one who's a serial killer/rapist. What's up?

Blame it on the 24/7 relentless Big Brother media. Not that the actions of those individuals are the fault of the media, but rather that things that used to be kept under wraps are now no longer hidden. I have no personal knowledge of specific cover ups, which would be the point of a cover up, but I'm certain other officers have done equally bad things only the military handled them internally without the prying eye of the media to make them public.
    "For to win 100 victories in 100 battles is not the acme of skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the acme of skill." Sun Tzu - The Art of War

Geraldo is Big Brother? MY MIND IS BLOOOOOOOOOO
    Portfolio | Blog Currently Running: Call of Cthulhu, Star Trek GUMSHOE Currently Playing: DramaSystem, Swords & Wizardry

I don't think you can blame the media. Major Hasan's attack was pretty public, and Colonel Russell's rape/murder trial was in a civilian court, where it should have been.

I'm used to military officers embezzling or committing adultery, or even things like Lt. Calley in My Lai, but these were above and beyond the pale, if you catch my drift.

I can see the military keeping some things on the QT, but not this type of thing.