Thread: New to FASA Trek: some rules questions

New to FASA Trek: some rules questions

Hi all,

just got me a nice 2nd edition box set of ebay and looking forward to running some Trek adventures, but I had a few questions pop up and finding the answers to them proved challenging! So I hope someone here still reads this forum and can help me out...

1) Fatigue Saving Rolls for evading. The op manual says:
    Evade: If a character uses all AP to evade for a full turn, he
    may take temporary damage. The player must make a Saving
    Roll against the character's MAX OP END with a -20 modifier.

Now this modifier, is it a penalty or bonus (so easier or more difficult to succeed?)

2) Wound and Fatigue Healing Rate. The officer's manual says the former is calculated by dividing END score by 20 and the latter by 10, while the op manual says the exact opposite. Which of the two is the correct?

Many thanks in advance!

Wow, I've been playing this game since 1987 and never noticed either of those discrepancies. The wording of the Evade fatigue rule is pretty vague and open to interpretation. Personally, I believe the intent is to make the roll a penalty to represent how tiring evasive movement is and thus harder to avoid fatigue.

As for the Wound and Fatigue Healing Rate, I have always gone with dividing END score by 20 for Wound and divide by 10 for Fatigue.
    "For to win 100 victories in 100 battles is not the acme of skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the acme of skill." Sun Tzu - The Art of War

Thanks, that helps a lot!

Sure thing, you have any other questions or need ships, or adventures, or just about anything else for the good Old FASA Trek, you let me know. As I mentioned, I've been using those rules for a long time and have a lot of stuff for the system/setting.
    "For to win 100 victories in 100 battles is not the acme of skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the acme of skill." Sun Tzu - The Art of War