Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introduction and questions

Introduction and questions

New guy here. Wanted to introduce myself and say hello. I've been roleplaying since round about 2000. Used to play in ST simm's, but grew out of that around '04 and moved onto D&D until about '07/'08. Now with my current gaming group we play Pathfinder, Star Wars Saga Edition, Ghostbusters International, d20 Modern and a slew of others. So, game math and new systems don't frighten me, but I am confused, and I'd like a little help, if you please.

I've been attempting to create characters, so that I can help my game group make theirs, because I want to run this game. The Player's Guide seems to be all over the place. I was attempting ot create "Ensign Ricky" aka Ensign Redshirt. Are Starfleet officers an advanced class, or am I simply over thinking and missing something?

From browsing the other books, it looks like the game might be a bit clunky with the rules. I figure this might appear so because I haven't played the game yet, but it looks slightly more confusing/scattered/clunky than other systems I've used.

The game can be clunky, but it is a good system.

Starship officers are not an advanced class (profession) and they are immediately awarded the Starship Duty ability, which gives them access to the elite Starship officer professions.

There is a character generation sheet on Patrick Goodman's website that aids in putting PC's together. It brings the book together in a simple way.

http://strpg.patrickgoodman.org

As for CODA, it is a game that has a few holes in it, but if you are a GM that can think on your feet, it is easy to make fixes. I can't speak for any other system for Star Trek - only played CODA - but this system is worth the time.

If you have anymore questions, this is the place.

Narrator: Darkening of Mirkwood | Chronicle of the North | Tempest Rising | To Boldly Go | Welcome to the 501st!
    Esgalwen [♦♦♦♦○○] Dmg 9/11 | Edge 8 | Injury 16/18