Multifire procedure and other questions
Can someone plz help me out?
I just want to confirm I understand Spacedock's multifire rules correctly.
you can EITHER fire several beam arrays at ONE shot each OR fire a single array with several shots, up to it's multifire rating; all this without a multiple action penalty.
So, counting as ONE single action and thus incurring no penalty, a weapons officer could EITHER fire the same array say 4 times OR achieve the same effect by firing 4 arrays ONCE.
IF one were to fire, say, 2 arrays once and then a third array 3 times, THEN this would count as two actions incurring a -1 penalty.
Also,
assuming you have a ship at full shield capacity; ALL the incoming fire, regardless of where it comes from, is treated with the "25% of base damage" rule; only the shot that carries the lowest base damage is applied fully.
So, if a Galaxy class ship is attacked by say one Galor class ship and 2 Dominion attack fighters -all on its fore shield- the lowest shot coming from the 3 ships does its full damage (ex: a torp coming from the Galor at 200 pts), then all subsequent shots are counted at 25% (say, 2 more torps from the Galor and a couple of Spiral-wave shots, and a few more Polaron shots from the 2 Dominion fighters).
The only exception to this is the Wolfpacking rule. With the Wolfpacking rule, the Galor's first torp would do full damage, but so would both first Polaron shots from the Dominion attack fighters.
Lastly, I have a question about bonuses. The bonuses listed for the use of equipment like sensors affect the number of attribute dice rolled NOT an overall bonus; so if a sensor array is rated at +2, the player rolls 2 extra dice and NOT meaning he simply adds a +2 bonus to his roll.
BUT things like TATTS (sp?) or the manoeuvres listed DO confer an overall bonus on the final result of the roll. For instance, if an attack manoeuvre gives a +3 bonus, than 3 is simply added to the final result.
Does that sound right?
If so, I'm having a hard time telling when its say +2 DICE or a +2 overall bonus; it's confusing. When its a +2 DICE bonus, I would have written it as something like : +2D
... if I get all of this right
Oh, better far to live and die
Under the brave black flag I fly,
Than play a sanctimonious part
With a pirate head and a pirate heart!