Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Questions from my first Session

  1. #1

    Questions from my first Session

    I ran a game the other night (Mystery in Gondor ) and have a couple of questions regarding it.

    I'm just not sure how to rule the usage of the Intimidate skill.

    For Example the PCs surprised 2 "bad guys" (Corsairs wearing Armor and swords.) All the PCs win initiative and act first.

    PC1 charges Corsair #1, who tries to dodge but is hit, takes damage and falls prone.

    PC2 steps forward and raises his sword at Corsair #2 and says something like "surrender or die" and rolls an Intimidate test.

    My question is how do I handle this? Do both Corsairs get a Willpower Reaction or can you only Intimidate 1 target at a time? How do circumstances modifiers effect the roll?


    Also, when combat starts, when a character is attacked before he has had a chance to act; If he tries a Dodge or Parry does the action count against his actions for the first round? In other words if he Dodges and his turn comes around, has he already taken an action this round or does he get a fresh allotment of actions when his turn in the initiative order comes up?

  2. #2

    Re: Questions from my first Session

    Originally posted by MightyCthulhu
    I ran a game the other night (Mystery in Gondor ) and have a couple of questions regarding it.

    I'm just not sure how to rule the usage of the Intimidate skill.

    For Example the PCs surprised 2 "bad guys" (Corsairs wearing Armor and swords.) All the PCs win initiative and act first.

    PC1 charges Corsair #1, who tries to dodge but is hit, takes damage and falls prone.

    PC2 steps forward and raises his sword at Corsair #2 and says something like "surrender or die" and rolls an Intimidate test.

    My question is how do I handle this? Do both Corsairs get a Willpower Reaction or can you only Intimidate 1 target at a time? How do circumstances modifiers effect the roll?
    I would rule:

    a) Both Corsairs get a Willpower reaction which must beat the player's Intimidate roll.

    b) The player's roll would be modified circumstantially (I don't have my rulebook handy, or else I'd give you specific modifiers), and would be made more difficult by the number above 1 being affected.

    Also, when combat starts, when a character is attacked before he has had a chance to act; If he tries a Dodge or Parry does the action count against his actions for the first round? In other words if he Dodges and his turn comes around, has he already taken an action this round or does he get a fresh allotment of actions when his turn in the initiative order comes up?
    The character can use a Dodge or Parry before their turn comes up, and it does count as an action.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •