Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [SCOOP!] Activision sues Viacom for letting the Star Trek franchise stagnate

Post [SCOOP!] Activision sues Viacom for letting the Star Trek franchise stagnate

You can read it in one of the following links:

http://www.gamingreport.com/article....&mode=&order=0

http://www.cinescape.com/0/editorial...1&obj_id=39043

http://www.scifi.com/scifiwire/art-m...01/10.30.games

At the time of this posting, I choose not to make any comment...

...but I will later.
    Anyhoo, just some random thoughts...

"My philosophy is 'you don't need me to tell you how to play -- I'll just provide some rules and ideas to use and get out of your way.'"
    -- Monte Cook

"Min/Maxing and munchkinism aren't problems with the game: they're problems with the players."
    -- excerpt from Guardians of Order's Role-Playing Game Manifesto

A GENERATION KIKAIDA fan

DISCLAIMER: I Am Not A Lawyer

Well, that's an ... interesting ... move. I can understand their frustration to a degree, at least on the movie front. On the other hand, the rest of us knew DS9 and VOY would be ending at 7 years, so why didn't Activision? And why shouldn't a single series be enough to keep up interest? It happens that ENT isn't generating the interest, but it's not like Paramount purposely set out to make a lackluster series (and please let's not go down that road).

The contract would need specifics like "X number of films will be made" or "Y number of series will be on the air at a given time" for them to really have legal legs. I guess we'll see.
    - Daniel "A revolution without dancing is a revolution not worth having."

I AM the lowest common denominator!

Post VIACOM RESPONDS!

AVault had this to say ...

Activision Sues Viacom Over Star Trek
    Reported by: David Laprad