Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Transfering Power

  1. #1

    Transfering Power

    OK, I think I've understood the system for transfering power to systems like Life Support, Sensors, or Operations, but what about shields and weapons?

    When the Klingon captain of the Heg'ta (K'Vort class) orders power from sensors to main disrupters (4/3/3/0/0)(B), then what happens? Does penetration change? what else could change?
    Does it simply move one "unit" down the chart?`(Starships, 1.18) Does it move to the next "letter"?
    What if he'd been in a B'Rel class (3/3/2/0/0)(A)?

    So Sorry if this question has been asked before, I'm only newly joined...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Heavy Metal Universe
    Posts
    1,147
    Welcome

    Well, you just act as if one point of damage had just been inflicted to the system, following the damage track, for as long as the transfer is maintained. That could imply reducing penetration, threshold... If you have a double-letter rating (ie, CC), nothing happens, but you will drop severely if the system is hit (ie, to B). Just like with regular damage.

    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
    Expanded Spacecraft Operations, a 100+ page sourcebook for CODA Trek

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    3,462
    Transfering power has nothing to do with Penetration - it's simply about moving the reliability letter up one notch (to the maximum of that system).

    So if your shields are down to b reliability from C - you could divert one block of power (by damaging another system)

    So in an example - the Sensors (C) which are on full strength were providing power for the Weapons (C) which had been moved down to (B) - you would damage one point on the sensors - taking them to (B) - and having successfully made your transfer power roll! You would then move your weapons back up to (C)

    I think if a system has been taken down to below (A) then a GM can rule that it needs to be overhauled at a Starbase (or cannot be jury rigged) - but that said - it's up to the GM, so if you wanted to put a point of power back into a system, to get it working that is fine!

    On another note - once power has been restored, the negative effects which had been applied are canceled. For example on the damage track, the shields can lose protection or penetration - if you repair the shields system (not to be confused with the shields strength) then the effects will be removed and it is returned to full effect. However dammage applied to the shields strength directly is not affected)

    Does that make sense?
    Ta Muchly

  4. #4
    Very good.
    I stand corrected.
    The explanetions appear to bring logic to the system.

    My gratitude.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •