Thread: Low-Carb Diet Craze: Is this hype?

Question Low-Carb Diet Craze: Is this hype?

If you ever turn your TV on (in America, that is) you'll notice a lot of food commercials showing the same trend: Low Carb. Subway, for instance, dropped Jared for the Atkins Friendly Wrap, clocking it in 11 net carb. Now in the supermarket, almost every food (old and new) are labeled with amount of low carb.

From 2003's low-gram to 2004 low-carb.

But is this really hype, or are we finally getting what we want from the US food manufacturers as a way to crack the obesity curse?
    Anyhoo, just some random thoughts...

"My philosophy is 'you don't need me to tell you how to play -- I'll just provide some rules and ideas to use and get out of your way.'"
    -- Monte Cook

"Min/Maxing and munchkinism aren't problems with the game: they're problems with the players."
    -- excerpt from Guardians of Order's Role-Playing Game Manifesto

A GENERATION KIKAIDA fan

DISCLAIMER: I Am Not A Lawyer

Parked within 10 feet of 29 degrees, 57' N, 90 degrees, 8' W. Did I mention my new phone has GPS?
    Like most other fad diets, Atkins gets results at first by forcing you to follow a pattern to what you eat and excludes a lot of "convinience" foods like chips. However, Atkins is famous for yo-yoing your weight if you fall "off the wagon", so to speak. The olny way to drop weight & keep it off is to eat less & do more. Subway & the others are just cashing in on the fad while it lasts.
    "If it ain't the Devil's music, you ain't doin' it right" -- Chris Thomas King

"C makes for an awfully long lever." - H. Beam Piper