Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: That 60's Flavour

That 60's Flavour

Hi there
    I'm new to Star Trek RPG games, and will soon be GM-ing a TOS game, circa 2269. The crew will be on an old Constitution class, exploring the galaxy, just like Kirk and co.

I want to completely avoid the techno-realism of modern series, and try to capture that special 60's flavour that came through from the Classic show, including fashion/politics/ideals/morals and their unique vision of the future.

Whilst I wouldn't want it to turn into a parody, I would like to at least touch base with all some of those kitsch things we associate with that series - aliens in go-go boots, ripped shirts and fisticuffs (cue Amok Time theme! ), giant "hands" in space etc!!

Can anyone give me any tips on how they've run episodic games based in this era, and how they tackled this? I would be grateful to hear from anyones experience and/or suggestions.

Bloomington, IN - the heart of Limestone Country!

can of worms...

well, I'm planning a game, too, and I'm working on how to incorporate exactly what your talking about into how my game will 'feel'. Here's some things I've come up with....

get as many of the original ST episode soundtracks on CD, and the classic ST sound effects CD. Have a cd player at your li'l GM station, one that holdsa feww CDs at a time and that scans to the track you want quickly. Play the appropriate music or sound when called for. Wee!