Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bonus stacking in CODA

  1. #1

    Bonus stacking in CODA

    Is there a general rule concerning the stacking of bonuses in the CODA system?

    My specific question concerns the maneuver bonuses granted by the Fighting Captain, Dogfighter, and Fire Control Officer professional abilities.

    If the CO and the XO both have Fighting Captain, is that a +4 to command maneuvers? Or only a +2, and the reason for both to have it is so the bonus remains if the XO is left in command?

    Likewise, what if both the captain and conn officer have Dogfighter? What if the captain, XO, and conn officer have it? Same for overlap between command and tactical officers with Fire Control Officer.

    Thanks!

    Deadstop
    (who just started chargen for a new CODATrek campaign)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canyon, TX, USA, Sol III
    Posts
    1,783
    Looks like I need to revisit some FAQs and clarifications.

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadstop View Post
    Is there a general rule concerning the stacking of bonuses in the CODA system?
    Kinda. Personal bonuses stack, in general, but this really isn't a situation we looked at when we were putting that all together.
    My specific question concerns the maneuver bonuses granted by the Fighting Captain, Dogfighter, and Fire Control Officer professional abilities.

    If the CO and the XO both have Fighting Captain, is that a +4 to command maneuvers? Or only a +2, and the reason for both to have it is so the bonus remains if the XO is left in command?
    This one, logically, is the latter. Only one officer can be in command at a time.
    Likewise, what if both the captain and conn officer have Dogfighter? What if the captain, XO, and conn officer have it? Same for overlap between command and tactical officers with Fire Control Officer.
    I'll have to go look up Dogfighter and Fire Control Officer. In general, I'm going to say that they don't stack; only one officer is typically doing one particular task at a time, but there might be a situation where they would. I'll look these up and double-check. My gut, however, says "No."
    Patrick Goodman -- Tilting at Windmills

    "I dare you to do better." -- Captain Christopher Pike

    Beyond the Final Frontier: CODA Star Trek RPG Support

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by PGoodman13 View Post
    Looks like I need to revisit some FAQs and clarifications.


    Kinda. Personal bonuses stack, in general, but this really isn't a situation we looked at when we were putting that all together.

    This one, logically, is the latter. Only one officer can be in command at a time.
    That is true. However, the ability reads "If the command officer commands or is acting as first officer during ship combat...." It later specifies, in a comment I am not entirely clear on, "This ability applies even if the command officer does not actually command the ship; he need only be in command on the bridge during the battle." (Possibly that means you don't have to be the formal CO but could be the night-shift guy with this ability, and it still counts.)

    That last sentence may indicate that you indeed have to be the single person in command to use the ability, but "commands or is acting as first officer" seems to imply that the XO job counts even if he is not replacing the captain at the time. That is the source of my confusion.

    If they are not intended to stack (as seems logical), I will so inform my players, but you may still want to add the clarification to your (wonderful!) FAQ.

    I'll have to go look up Dogfighter and Fire Control Officer. In general, I'm going to say that they don't stack; only one officer is typically doing one particular task at a time, but there might be a situation where they would. I'll look these up and double-check. My gut, however, says "No."
    These two abilities are tier 1 for Flight Control and Operations/Security, respectively, but also appear as tier 2 abilties for command officers. The versions for the specific departments require that you man the helm/weapons specifically, but the command officer versions read "if the command officer commands, is first officer, or mans the [conn/weapons] station," thus causing the same confusion as before. If a captain with Dogfighter is in command and a conn officer with Dogfighter is working conn, they both simultaneously meet the requirements of their respective abilities.

    Again, "generally not intended to stack" is a fine answer, but I hope you can see where the wording might be interpreted otherwise.

    Thanks very much for the prompt and expert response. If you have further commentary on the wording, I await it eagerly.

    Deadstop

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canyon, TX, USA, Sol III
    Posts
    1,783
    Like I said, once I have a chance to sit with my books and look those over, I'll get back to you. Make sure you tell your players that the current ruling is very, very tentative.
    Patrick Goodman -- Tilting at Windmills

    "I dare you to do better." -- Captain Christopher Pike

    Beyond the Final Frontier: CODA Star Trek RPG Support

  5. #5
    Righto, thank you very much. Didn't mean to push, was just providing more information.

    Deadstop

  6. #6
    Mr. Goodman, have you gotten a chance to look at your books yet? Again, not pushing, but my first session is coming up so I thought I'd better slip in a reminder.

    Anyone else who's dealt with this question is of course welcome to weigh in as well.

    Thanks,

    Deadstop

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canyon, TX, USA, Sol III
    Posts
    1,783
    Quote Originally Posted by Deadstop View Post
    Mr. Goodman, have you gotten a chance to look at your books yet? Again, not pushing, but my first session is coming up so I thought I'd better slip in a reminder.
    Thanks for doing so; I'd pulled things out to look at them several times, and kept forgetting to log on and say anything.

    Looking it over, I'm going to have to stand on my earlier reaction: No, these bonuses don't stack. In general, one character isn't going to be able to give another character a bonus (though there are exceptions; the Command edge allows that character's subordinates to get a bonus on certain tests).

    It's still a good idea for more than one character to have an ability, so that they can take over in case something happens to the other character, but the bonuses won't be able to be combined.
    Patrick Goodman -- Tilting at Windmills

    "I dare you to do better." -- Captain Christopher Pike

    Beyond the Final Frontier: CODA Star Trek RPG Support

  8. #8
    Thanks very much!

    Deadstop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •